Policy Committee



AMANS has been increasingly called upon by the Province of Nova Scotia and UNSM to become more involved in policy development impacting municipal government.  As such, the Board has identified policy as one of four goals in its most recent Strategic Plan. This work is a shift from AMA’s traditional role of providing training, development, tools and resources for its members and therefore needs clear oversight and direction. The mandate of this Committee is to act as a knowledge resource, providing expert counsel in the area of policy, legislation, and regulations as they relate to municipal government.


Committee Members

  • Erin Beaudin - Town of Wolfville (Chair)
  • Doug Armstrong - Town of Windsor
  • Rennie Bugley -  Municipality of the County of Cumberland
  • Louis Coutinho - Town of Windsor
  • Alex Dumaresq - Municipality of the District of Lunenburg
  • Bruce Fisher - Halifax Regional Municipality
  • Glenn Horne - Municipality of the County of Antigonish
  • Steve Scannell - Town of Antigonish